schliessen
EN

Research and projects

Docteur Kevin Gillmann

With more than 50 scientific publications since 2018, the Montchoisi Glaucoma Research Center has quickly become one of the most active centers in Switzerland in this field.

Objective of the Research Department

The research department of the Glaucoma Centre in Lausanne aims to conduct cutting-edge research, enabling the development of pioneering and innovative techniques and treatments to better diagnose, treat and one day cure glaucoma.

Prof. Kaweh Mansouri -  FMH Specialist in Ophthalmology and Ophthalmic surgery

eyeWatch

Invented at EPFL Lausanne, the eyeWatch is a microscopic drainage tube for glaucoma surgery equipped with a valve that can be adjusted with a magnet. Made of biocompatible materials, it reduces the post-operative risks associated with conventional surgery. It is thus the first device in the world allowing glaucoma surgery that can be modulated according to needs. Almost three years after its first implantation by Professor Mermoud at the Clinique de Montchoisi in Lausanne, its use continues to grow and international newspapers have already dedicated several articles to it. The first long-term results have recently been widely reported in the scientific literature. At the end of 2019, the eyeWatch received the CE marking (European conformity) which allows it to be marketed in European countries that recognize the label. This certification mark indicates that the health, safety and environmental protection standards are conform to the European Economic Area. In Switzerland, the Clinique de Montchoisi has exclusive rights.

OCT FLEX

Thanks to donations from generous donors, the Swiss Glaucoma Research Foundation was able to acquire the OCT FLEX imaging system, making Swiss Visio Montchoisi the third centre in the world to acquire this revolutionary system. This device allows a completely new imaging technique to be used: angiography of the aqueous humor. This examination, developed at UCLA in California, makes the channels for evacuating intraocular fluid visible and could in the future allow glaucoma surgeons to better target their interventions by adapting them specifically to the pathology of each patient.

Eyemate-SC

In September 2019, Professor Mansouri was the first surgeon in Switzerland to implant an Eyemate-SC sensor at Swiss Visio Montchoisi. This intraocular sensor is implanted into the patient's sclera during a filtering surgery for the treatment of glaucoma and subsequently allows a remote and continuous measurement of the intraocular pressure using a wireless reading device. With this new technology, patients can now measure their intraocular pressure alone at home and share all their measurements with their ophthalmologist with a single click.

INTEGRAL register

The INTEGRAL register will eventually bring together the anonymous clinical data of hundreds of glaucoma patients. The longitudinal study (over 5 to 10 years) of their evolution, with or without treatment, aims to investigate the genetic and environmental risk factors related to the development and progression of glaucoma. This study will eventually allow us to better advise patients on the risks related to their disease or the choice of the most appropriate treatment for their case.

The PERG

The PERG or 'Pattern Electroretinogram' is a technique that studies the functioning of the optic nerve, which transmits visual information from the eye to the brain. With the help of electrodes placed on the forehead and eyelids, this device detects the electrical signals emitted by the nerve cells of the retina and makes it possible to detect deficits in the cells most affected by glaucoma. Eventually this machine would have the potential to detect glaucoma earlier. Our studies on its effectiveness are in progress.

OCT-A

OCT angiography is a non-invasive technique that allows precise visualization of the deep and superficial vasculature of the retina and optic nerve. The retina is as affected by glaucoma as the nerve fibres that were previously thought to be the only ones affected. This technology should therefore allow us to better understand the causes of glaucoma and to diagnose certain cases more accurately.

TriggerFish

Invented in Lausanne, Switzerland, this 'intelligent' contact lens measures intraocular pressure continuously over a 24-hour period. A great innovation in the field of glaucoma, which makes it possible to no longer just base the estimation of pressure control on a single moment in the office, but to have a true overview of the values during the patient's daily life. Several studies have already appeared and are promising: the study of pressure variations over a day could soon complement some traditional examinations.

Due to the current Coronavirus situation, please contact us on +41 58 274 23 00 for more information.

schliessen
FR

Recherche et projets

Docteur Kevin Gillmann

Avec plus de 50 publications scientifiques depuis 2018, le centre de recherche contre le glaucome de Montchoisi est rapidement devenu l'un des centres les plus actifs de Suisse dans le domaine.

Objectif du département de Recherche

Le département de recherche du Centre du Glaucome à Lausanne a pour objectif de mener une recherche de pointe, permettant le développement de techniques et de traitements pionniers et innovants pour mieux diagnostiquer, traiter, et un jour guérir le glaucome.

Prof. Kaweh Mansouri - Spécialiste en FMH en Ophtalmologie et Ophtalmochirurgie

eyeWatch

Inventé à Lausanne au sein de l’EPFL, l'eyeWatch est un tube de drainage microscopique utilisé dans la chirurgie du glaucome. Conçu en matériaux biocompatibles, ce dispositif novateur permet de contrôler la pression intra-oculaire grâce à une valve aimantée. Les réglages de cette dernière permettent de diminuer les complications post-opératoires liées à certaines chirurgies dites conventionnelles. L’eyewatch est ainsi le premier appareil au monde permettant une chirurgie du glaucome personnalisée en fonction des besoins. Presque trois ans après sa première implantation par le Professeur Mermoud à la Clinique de Montchoisi à Lausanne, son utilisation ne cesse de croître et les journaux internationaux y ont déjà dédié plusieurs articles. Les premiers résultats à long terme ont retenu l’attention des spécialistes dans la communauté scientifique. L’eyeWatch a également reçu fin 2019 le marquage CE (conformité européenne), permettant sa commercialisation en Europe. Cette certification indique que les normes de santé, de sécurité et de protection de l'environnement sont conformes à l'Espace économique européen. En Suisse, la Clinique de Montchoisi détient l’exclusivité.

Lire le communiqué de presse

OCT FLEX

Grace aux dons de généreux donateurs, la Swiss Glaucoma Research Foundation a pu acquérir le système d'imagerie OCT FLEX, faisant de Swiss Visio Montchoisi le 3ème centre au monde à se doter de ce système révolutionnaire. Cet appareil permet de pratiquer une toute nouvelle technique d'imagerie : l'angiographie de l'humeur aqueuse. Cet examen, développée à UCLA, en Californie, rend visible les canaux d'évacuation du liquide intraoculaire et pourraient à l'avenir permettre aux chirurgiens du glaucome de mieux cibler leurs interventions en les adaptant spécifiquement à la pathologie de chaque patient.

Eyemate-SC

Le Professeur Mansouri a été, au mois de septembre 2019, le premier chirurgien en Suisse à pratiquer l'implantation d'un capteur Eyemate-SC, à Swiss Visio Montchoisi. Ce capteur intraoculaire est implanté dans la sclère du patient, lors d'une intervention de chirurgie filtrante pour le traitement du glaucome, et permet par la suite une mesure de la pression intraoculaire à distance et en continu, grâce à un appareil de lecture sans fil. Avec cette nouvelle technologie, les patients peuvent désormais mesurer leurs pressions intraoculaires seuls, chez eux, et partager l'ensemble de leurs mesures avec leur ophtalmologue en un simple clic.

Registre INTEGRAL

Le registre INTEGRAL regroupera à terme les données cliniques anonymes de centaines de patients souffrants d'un glaucome. L'étude longitudinale (sur 5 à 10 ans) de leur évolution, avec ou sans traitement, a pour but de rechercher les facteurs de risques génétiques et environnementaux liés au développement et à la progression du glaucome. Cette étude nous permettra à terme de mieux conseiller les patients sur les risques liés à leur maladie ou le choix du traitement le plus adapté à leur cas.
 

Le PERG

Le PERG ou 'Pattern Electroretinogram' est une technique étudiant le fonctionnement du nerf optique, qui transmet les informations visuelles de l'oeil au cerveau. A l'aide d'électrodes placées sur le front et les paupières, cet appareil détecte les signaux électriques émis par les cellules nerveuses de la rétine et permet de détecter des déficits au niveau des cellules les plus touchées par le glaucome. A terme cette machine aurait le potentiel de détecter les glaucomes plus précocement. Nos études sur son efficacité sont en cours.

OCT-A

L'angiographie OCT est une technique non-invasive permettant de visualiser avec précision la vasculature profonde et superficielle de la rétine et du nerf optique. Cette dernière s'avère être tout aussi affectée par le glaucome que les fibres nerveuses que l'on supposait précédemment être les seules touchées. Cette technologie devrait donc nous permettre de mieux comprendre les causes du glaucome, et de diagnostiquer certains cas avec davantage de précision.

TriggerFish

Inventée à Lausanne, cette lentille de contact 'intelligente' mesure la pression intraoculaire de façon continue sur une période de 24 heures. Une grand innovation dans le domaine du glaucome qui permet de ne plus seulement baser l'estimation du contrôle d'une pression sur un seul instant au cabinet, mais d'avoir une véritable vue d'ensemble des valeurs au cours de la vie quotidienne du patient. Plusieurs études ont déjà paru et sont prometteuses : l'étude des variations de pression sur une journée pourrait bientôt venir compléter certains examens traditionnels.

Suite à la situation actuelle liée au Coronavirus, veuillez prendre contact avec nous au +41 58 274 23 00 pour plus d’informations.